2016-2017 Catalog 
    
    Jul 24, 2024  
2016-2017 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendar


These dates apply to CMC students in all cases. Some of the other undergraduate colleges use a different calendar for their students.

Fall Semester 2016 (70 instructional days)


August 20 Saturday Residence Halls open for new students
August 20 - 29 Saturday - Monday Orientation for new students
August 28 Sunday Upperclassmen return
August 28 Sunday New students register for courses
August 30 Tuesday Classes begin at 8:10 a.m.
Convocation at 11:00 a.m.
Add/Drop begins
September 5 Monday Labor Day (classes in session)
September 12 Monday Last day to register for a course
October 5 Wednesday Low grade reports due to Registrar
October 14 Friday Fall break begins after last class
October 19 Wednesday Fall break ends; classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
October 20 Thursday Last day to withdraw from classes without academic penalty
Last day to petition for Credit/No Credit option
November 23 Wednesday Thanksgiving recess begins after last class
November 28 Monday Thanksgiving recess ends; classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
December 9 Friday Last day of CMC classes
December 12-16 Monday - Friday Final examinations
December 17 - January 16 Saturday - Monday Winter break
December 22 Thursday Grades due to CMC Registrar by 12 noon

Spring Semester 2017 (71 instructional days)


January 15 Sunday Dorms open; check in (10:30 a.m.-6:30 p.m.)
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday observed; staff holiday; no classes
January 17 Tuesday Classes begin at 8:10 a.m.
Add/Drop begins
January 30 Monday Last day to register for a course
February 22 Wednesday Low grade reports due to Registrar
March 9 Thursday Last day to withdraw from classes without academic penalty
Last day to petition for Credit/No Credit option
March 10 Friday Spring break begins after last class
March 20 Monday Spring break ends; classes begin at 8:00 a.m.
March 31 Friday Cesar Chavez holiday observed; staff holiday; no classes
May 3 Wednesday Last day of CMC classes
May 4-5 Thursday - Friday Reading days for CMC courses
May 5 Friday Grades for May graduates due to Registrar by 12 noon
May 8-12 Monday - Friday Final examinations (non-graduates only)
May 13 Saturday Commencement at 2:00 p.m.
May 18 Thursday All other grades due to CMC Registrar by 12 noon

Fall Semester 2017 (70 instructional days)


August 29 Tuesday Fall 2017 classes begin at 8:10 a.m.