The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
Claremont McKenna College    
 
    
 
  Sep 22, 2017
 
2017-2018 Catalog

Academic Calendar


These dates apply to CMC students in all cases. Some of the other undergraduate colleges use a different calendar for their students.

Fall Semester 2017 (70 instructional days)


August 20 Sunday Residence Halls open for new students
August 20- 28 Saturday - Monday Orientation for new students
August 27 Sunday Upperclassmen return
August 27 Sunday New students register for courses
August 29 Tuesday Classes begin at 8:10 a.m.
Convocation at 11:00 a.m.
Add/Drop begins
September 4 Monday Labor Day (classes in session)
September 11 Monday Last day to register for a course
October 4 Wednesday Low Grade Notices / Academic Advisories due
October 13 Friday Fall break begins after last class
October 18 Wednesday Fall break ends; classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
October 19 Thursday Last day to withdraw from classes without academic penalty
Last day to petition for Credit/No Credit option
November 22 Wednesday Thanksgiving recess begins after last class
November 27 Monday Thanksgiving recess ends; classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
December 8 Friday Last day of CMC classes
December 11-15 Monday - Friday Final examinations
December 16 - January 15 Saturday - Monday Winter break
January 2, 2018 Tuesday Grades due to CMC Registrar by 8:00 a.m.

Spring Semester 2018 (71 instructional days)


January 14 Sunday Dorms open; check in (10:30 a.m.-6:30 p.m.)
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday observed; staff holiday; no classes
January 16 Tuesday Classes begin at 8:10 a.m.
Add/Drop begins
January 29 Monday Last day to register for a course
February 21 Wednesday Low Grade Notices / Academic Advisories due
March 8 Thursday Last day to withdraw from classes without academic penalty
Last day to petition for Credit/No Credit option
March 9 Friday Spring break begins after last class
March 19 Monday Spring break ends; classes begin at 8:00 a.m.
March 30 Friday Cesar Chavez holiday observed; staff holiday; no classes
May 2 Wednesday Last day of CMC classes
May 3-4 Thursday - Friday Reading days for CMC courses
May 4 Friday Grades for May graduates due to Registrar by 12 noon
May 7-11 Monday - Friday Final examinations (non-graduates only)
May 12 Saturday Commencement at 2:00 p.m.
May 17 Thursday All other grades due to CMC Registrar by 12 noon

Fall Semester 2018 (70 instructional days)


September 4 Tuesday Fall 2018 classes begin at 8:10 a.m.